Posted in reflection

Rule breaking

My organization has a rule that on Fridays from 1-5pm we are supposed to be in the office to complete our database responsibilities. The reason is that it is a dedicated time for us to get this technical record keeping done without interruption.

Well today I broke the rules.

One of my clients is supposed to start a job on Monday – but only if he has all of the paperwork filled out and all the necessary paperwork. This kid is 15 years old and his Mother isn’t very reliable when it comes to getting tasks completed, so I decided to break the rules and go over to their home at 3pm today to help this kiddo fill out the paperwork.

I’m very glad that I did! None of it had been even started and like any 15 year old, he didn’t know how to fill any of it out without an adult.

And the best part was seeing how excited he was to be doing such monotonous work. I know him well enough to know that he struggles to stay focused and motivated – but he literally couldn’t have been happier filling out all the tedious papers, signing his name, and learning his social security number.

This is why we need to give kids second and third and fourth chances. This is a kid who has 4 open cases and who police are fed up with – but I get to see part of who he really is….a 15 year old psyched to have his very first job.

Author:

I'm a social worker, a vegan, a reader...and I'm in need of a place to collect all the amazing things that I encounter in my day to day life. I'll be posting about the little things, the small, sunny moments that keep me going.

Leave a Reply

