Posted in Series

Spring Cleaning: Assessment

spring cleaning

Now that it is officially Spring (!), I thought that I would do a mini-series on the theme of spring cleaning. This isn’t just the act of finally opening the windows and dusting the cobwebs out of the room corners – I’m talking full blown re-haul of life. Every once in a while I like to stop and assess how my life is going and, based on my reflections, choose what things I want to keep, alter, or toss.

You could think about this in terms of actually cleaning the house – like do you reallllllly need that pile of magazines in the corner that you’ve only ever flipped through unenthusiastically? (hint: probably not!). Or you could clean out your closet and get rid of the stuff that you never wear, doesn’t fit, or isn’t your style anymore (hint: donate if its appropriate!!). Or, taking this even further, you could “spring clean” your life by taking a look at the different aspects of wellness and figuring out what routines and habits to keep, which to alter, and which to stop or start.

wellness wheel

Its fairly easy to look at a teeming closet and realize that you need to sort it out, but its a little harder to do that with life. Instead, I used a template that I found recently from the University of North Dakota and it made the process of reflecting on the different domains of my life much easier.

The domains that it assesses are:

  • physical wellness
  • social wellness
  • emotional wellness
  • environmental wellness
  • occupational wellness
  • spiritual wellness
  • intellectual wellness

I found this assessment to be really helpful in breaking down each part of my life and teasing out some of the details. Clearly, it can’t ask about everything, but it can definitely get the juices flowing!

For me, I need the most work on my Emotional and Environmental wellness, followed closely by Social and Spiritual wellness. My next project is to develop a plan for myself along with realistic ways for me to address each of these domains and support myself in these areas.

So, what are you waiting for! Give it a try. What areas are you succeeding in? Which ones are harder for you? No one is perfect, so if you feel like you’re struggling everywhere, choose the domain that is most meaningful to you and work on that first!

Check back on Sunday for some inspiration for improvement in each of the domains!

Author:

I'm a social worker, a vegan, a reader...and I'm in need of a place to collect all the amazing things that I encounter in my day to day life. I'll be posting about the little things, the small, sunny moments that keep me going.

Leave a Reply

